Becoming a Licensed Cosmetologist in Florida

Before working as a licensed cosmetology professional in the state of Florida, it’s essential to meet the proper licensing requirements for your chosen career path. Each licensed beauty career and its hourly training requirements can be found in the list below. As New Image Beauty Bar is licensed and certified for the State of Florida, we have included the Florida requirements. When getting a Florida cosmetology license or getting certified for another career path, the state requires you to attend an accredited school. Upon completion of your training hours, you can take the cosmetology exam through the Board of Cosmetology. Florida does not allow apprenticeship to get these training hours. The Board of Cosmetology administers your license after you pass their required exams. However, your education isn’t over yet. You must complete 16 continuing education hours during each two-year renewal period. For specific questions, please contact the Florida Board of Cosmetology directly for more information. It is worth noting that Florida also offers the cosmetology board exams in both the English and Spanish languages through Pearson Vue. It is important to do your research ahead of time before signing up or agreeing to learn new services in your area. You must always check and be up to date with your licenses, and obtain a new requirement before learning a new service or technique. If you do not, you may be performing services illegally and will be punishable by law. Florida Board of Cosmetology License Requirements (2017)
  • COSMETOLOGIST LICENSE: 1200 Hours
  • ESTHETICIAN LICENSE: 260 Hours
  • PERMANENT MAKEUP ARTIST LICENSE: 3-Hour Communicable Disease Course
Florida Cosmetology License Renewal Cosmetology licenses in Florida are divided into two groups depending on when you get your license. Group 1 licenses must be renewed by October 31 in even-numbered years, and Group 2 must be renewed by October 31 in odd-numbered years. License renewal fees vary from $30 to $55 depending on your beauty specialty. Florida requires 16 hours of cosmetology continuing education during each two-year renewal period. Cosmetology License Reciprocity (Transfer) to Florida If you have a cosmetology license in another state, you may be eligible for licensing via endorsement in Florida. To be considered for licensure by endorsement, the licensure requirements of your home state must be equal to or greater than Florida’s cosmetology licensure requirements. If you have at least 1,000 hours of education from another state and at least one year of licensure behind you, you can register to take the Florida cosmetology exam and get your license. Those who have a cosmetology license in another country cannot get their Florida license by endorsement. They must go through the examination process. Florida State Board of Cosmetology Contact Information Florida Department of Business & Professional Regulation, Board of Cosmetology 1940 N. Monroe St. Tallahassee, FL 32399-0783 Phone Number: 850-487-1395 Fax Number: 866-888-1176 E-mail Address: call.center@dbpr.state.fl.us The Florida State Board of Cosmetology can help you with replacing a lost cosmetology license, updating change of name or change of address information, and acquiring out-of-state and other useful forms, as well as answer additional questions about obtaining a Florida state cosmetology license.  
Back to Top